RsRL Awards 2012

DK Gupta Memorial Scientific Award 2012 goes to Ms. Diane Pierret, “best” PhD research paper on Systemic Risk for Energy Market (just to add that systemic risk in finance is very common these days when almost all govt. banks are not safe across locations) from UCL-Belgium (Supervisor – Prof. Robert Engle, 2003 Nobel Laureate in Economics).

RsRL Awards 2013

A Note from R-square RiskLab Energy Day Secreteriat:

R-square RiskLab has awarded this year’s DK Gupta Memorial Best Energy Paper 2013 Prize for a study on “Medium-term planning for thermal electricity production” to a young researcher named, Florentina Paraschiv. On the surface, this type of award could be construed as mundane, or just a pretty bow on the same old package of facts and figures. That was not the case.

Given that EU is moving towards Single Electricity Markets, such attempts, as captured in the selected study paper, could be the first step towards developing an integrated pricing model for electricity production and distribution. Florentina exemplifies that notion. We are proud to felicitate her and her work at Energy Finance 2013 in Essen, Germany. As per the jury of R-square RiskLab, conviction of her beliefs will overcome ridicule of her peers; this is one of the cornerstones of innovation.

Details about Florentina: Associate Professor Dr. Florentina Paraschiv works in research projects on econometric methods to describe the dynamics of energy prices, including electricity, gas, and oil markets. Since 2011, she is associate professor at the School of Finance, St. Gallen University in Switzerland.